An Anectdote

[All names have been changed to protect the guilty.]

When I first got back from my most exciting trip to Europe, my SMV took a massive hit.  At first, it wasn’t too intensely painful (although for some reason almost all of my successes were either natives of Ireland or ethnically Irish), but soon enough I was almost as “unlucky” as I had ever been.  Back to lower beta.

Frank was an actor friend of mine who had recently left Chicago, and it was because of him that I knew, or perhaps I should say knew of, Emma.  Emma was a hot and talented little redhead who usually starred with Frank in their local works of theater.  Emma was the reason Frank didn’t have to work too hard to get any of us to go to his plays.

My social circle somewhat overlapped with Emma’s, but somehow, every time I went to a party she wasn’t there, or vice-versa.

However, based on the reports of my friends who did actually get to talk to Emma, actually talking to her wouldn’t have done any good.  Not only did she always have a boyfriend, she had an eternal crush on Frank.  To everyone’s astonishment, Frank stayed loyal to his relatively plain girlfriend while everyone else just stood back and drooled.  Emma was inaccessible.

But somehow, some way, I got invited to a cast party at a bar, and Emma was there.  I talked to her, but because I considered her so far out of reach, I wasn’t worried about messing things up.  We got along.  Within a few days she was going to visit her boyfriend in New York before heading to California to pursue her big screen dreams.  I told her we should hang out before she goes, she agreed, and a couple of days later we met up at this quasi-bar I knew on the North Side.

So we’re there, still pretty sober, talking about whatever, and the conversation drifts to her move to California.  Here’s where the test begins:

Martel:  So how do you think things’ll go out there?

Emma:  I’m really worried about the competition.  I know that I can really act, but so many of the girls out there as so beautiful, I don’t know how I’ll ever compete.

Martel:  What are you talking about?  You’re gorgeous.

Emma:  Compared to some of them out there, no way.  I’m just–

Martel:  Don’t be a dumbass.  Depending on your expression or the light at any given instant, you can go from pretty girl-next-door to exotic siren to classic beauty and back again.  You’re like the perfect mix biology and art.

Emma:  But out there they’re so–

Martel.  Yeah, I’m sure they’re hot.  Whatever.  You’re a knockout, but you’re being an idiot so I’m changing the subject.  So when you’re trying to get roles in commercials or whatever, do they have a theater scene out there, or how does that work?

Emma:  Ummmm, I’m not really sure how that works, yet.  My friend Stacy out there says that…

Blah.  Blah.  Blah.  The End.

Now, for the first time ever, an Alpha Is Assumed poll:

(I obviously can’t force you, but please answer for only the category that fits you.)

Discuss.

This entry was posted in Alpha, Foundations, Game. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to An Anectdote

  1. donalgraeme says:

    I voted middle of the road because the beginning was crap (you fell for her ploy for attention) but regained some measure of Alpha with this bit:

    Yeah, I’m sure they’re hot. Whatever. You’re a knockout, but you’re being an idiot so I’m changing the subject.

    Not a total loss in the long run, but for more immediate/short term “Game” is was weak.

  2. earl says:

    I chose the bait route but I’m going a different direction from the obvious…she knows she’s beautiful, hot, etc.

    But there are times I’ve still fallen for this when a woman doesn’t agree with my logic….calling her an idiot and dumbass was probably a worse move than calling her beautiful. I’m assuming from the context that it wasn’t in a teasing manner but an actual insult. It sounds like you were a bit mad at her because she wasn’t agreeing with you about how hot she was.

    Anyway that’s what I get from the conversation presented…but again I don’t know the context, body language, vocal tone, etc.

  3. I said Decent. I don’t think there was anything wrong with how you spoke to her, except for maybe giving too many compliments in too short a space of time, I think just one would have been better. But it’s good that you said you are changing the subject and didn’t leave the control to her to keep talking about the same thing. I think it’s good also that you didn’t agree with her about the competition, and say “yeah you are right”. A lot of men do that type of thing and maybe some women can handle this but I find it to be very hard on my self-esteem.

  4. Anonymous says:

    “so many of the girls out there as so beautiful, I don’t know how I’ll ever compete.”

    “Hey, they have sweet potatoe fries here! I love those things”

  5. I’m wondering what her real concern was. If she was afraid of being able to compete, then why was she going? I think that – her fundamental doubt about her decision – was what her real concern was. And Martel’s reinforcing her physical and acting qualities didn’t go anywhere near her actual concern, which is why I’ll bet he crashed and burned.

  6. Pingback: “Ain’t me, it ain’t my crime; your rap, ’cause it ain’t mine…” | 80-Proof Oinomancy

  7. A♠ says:

    @anon,

    Perfect.

    Follow the statement immediately with a story about why you love them [the sillier/more childish, the better].

    Then change venues.

    Walk to another bar or, since you are both sober:

    Go get ice cream.

    One pint; 2 spoons.

  8. Wald says:

    I voted superb but because I thought your ‘save’ was well done. Your game before that was not so good. Generally, don’t talk about a girl’s beauty. She knows she’s beautiful already.

    Wald

    • earl says:

      Plus she has heard the same lines at least 7 times earlier from other guys.

    • Wald says:

      Reading that a second time – I voted decent. I’ll explain why.
      ______________________________________________________________________________
      Martel: So how do you think things’ll go out there?

      Emma: I’m really worried about the competition. I know that I can really act, but so many of the girls out there as so beautiful, I don’t know how I’ll ever compete.

      Martel: What are you talking about? You’re gorgeous.

      Emma: Compared to some of them out there, no way. I’m just–

      Martel: Don’t be a dumbass. Depending on your expression or the light at any given instant, you can go from pretty girl-next-door to exotic siren to classic beauty and back again. You’re like the perfect mix biology and art.

      Emma: But out there they’re so–

      Martel. Yeah, I’m sure they’re hot. Whatever. You’re a knockout, but you’re being an idiot so I’m changing the subject. So when you’re trying to get roles in commercials or whatever, do they have a theater scene out there, or how does that work?

      Emma: Ummmm, I’m not really sure how that works, yet. My friend Stacy out there says that…
      ______________________________________________________________________________

      First off, without vocal tone, facial expressions, or seeing the conclusion of the conversation or future interactons – it’s hard to tell exactly what went on. Onlookers run the risk of missing the forest for the trees and you too.

      Despite that – with a girl who’s beautiful – you do not need to tell her she’s gorgeous. Unless you say it playfully or something.

      Calling her an idiot with your “save” (Whatever…) was a good move. Saying “don’t be a dumbass…” was not. Reeks of BETA frustration that the girl can’t see how pretty she is and more importantly, can’t see how pretty you think she is.

      Your save at the end and misdirection probably righted the course of this shaky ship. That’s all I can give.

      Wald

  9. Aurini says:

    A better line might have been: “You should shave all your hair off. Then guys would notice you.”

  10. Titanium says:

    No game. You had her on a pedestal.

  11. Random Angeleno says:

    hate to be nitpicky, but “anectdote” in title is spelled wrong.

    game was very weak to start. barely saved a little something toward the end.

    she’s begging to be knocked off the pedestal. agree and amplify about said lack of beauty and play it to comedic effect. get her laughing.

  12. Pingback: Eat Crow | Alpha Is Assumed

Leave a Reply

