The Cursed Blessing

Many bloggers and writers of other stripes frequently have the problem of not knowing what to write about.  I don’t.  My problem is their problem’s opposite.

That’s not to say I’ve always make the right choice as to what I should write on a given day, nor have things necessarily flowed after I’ve made my choice.  Nevertheless, my mind is full, always.  Perhaps too full, and I only have a very limited amount of time in which to do what I want.

Just within the past couple of days I’ve encountered essays on race by Vox Day, Ed Driscoll, Thomas Sowell, and Ramesh Pomeranu that I would love to contrast with each other.  I would add my own spin, describe the ways in which we’re falling for a fallacy that’s been kept alive by the left over the past couple of decades, and propose a solution.  The best way for us to bring others to our side is to get it right ourselves.

I want to expand on the three Foundational Principles and how they created our civilization, their political culmination in America’s founding documents, and how they relate to the three legs of the modern conservative movement (which I define slightly differently than Reagan).  Each ‘leg” emphasizes one of the principles and each respects the other two.  However, each “leg” doesn’t feel as though the others acknowledge it enough (and sometimes they’re right).  All three have much to learn from each other; each has an invaluable contribution to make, but each is going to have to give a bit, too.  I have some pretty good ideas on how to reconcile them in a way that will effectively neutralize the RINOs.

I’ve also recently encountered a great essay on how our principles can be more succinctly portrayed to the masses.  My idea on how to do this is more succinct, but his was great, and I want to analyze his take and perhaps get some feedback.

I have ideas on pop culture, why ours sucks, and what we can do about it.  I’m not necessarily the guy to do it, but there’s a way to turn the “cool” factor against the left, and I know what it is.

I’ve also written extensively on how the philosophies of Rousseau, Kant, and Nietzsche have worked together to tear down so much of what we’ve built.  I’ve dubbed Rousseau “The Patriarch of the Matriarchy”, and although I don’t have catchy names for the other two yet, I’d love to get the chance to dissect the horrible fallacies they introduced to the modern world.  The blood of World War I fed the seeds that they planted, and it they grew into some really heinous plants.

In America, we’ve shared in Europe’s sins, but we were called to more and fell short.  I want to expound on how insufficient attention to the promise of the Declaration has fostered what may well result in our downfall.  The Civil War was about competing notions of freedom, both of which were right and wrong.  One side was more right than the other, and I’d love to get into why.

I’ve also got at least a dozen rhetorical techniques, like how to respond when somebody says “Republicans do it, too” (easier for libertarians, but manageable for Republicans, too).  I see how to combine Principle and Game to bring out the best in people, to inspire them to get the most out of their own lives, and get them to vote the right way.

And then there’s the outline I’ve got somewhere on the politics of Genesis (no, not Creationism).  The Fall, Cain and Abel, the Noahide Code, that sacrifice thing with Abraham and Isaac, the rape of Dinah, Judah and Tamar, and Joseph’s economic policies all have direct implications for modern politics.  It would be fun to spend some time on that.  (Even if you think Genesis is a myth, after hearing me out you’ll be convinced it’s one hell of an insightful myth).

And Rollo had a great insight recently on how masculinity is directly related to producing more than one consumes.  There’s also been some great stuff out there about a type of “pixie” woman and why she drives certain types of men so batty.  Recently, I’ve found that my blog has become more political than Manospherish.  I’d like it to be a hefty dose of both.

I gave seminars in the last city where I lived on Rhetoric, and I was developing a pretty decent following.  I want to do something like that again.

Unfortunately, I have to spend at least eight hours per day in a cubicle doing stuff that has nothing to do with any of this.  Sometimes I get to Tweet, I can read some articles, and I can even respond to your comments here or comment on other blogs when stuff slows down.  But there’s no way in hell I can do anything even remotely resembling a blog post at work.  I have to wait until night to do that, but I also sometimes have errands to run or a toilet to scrub.

I’m also hitting the gym on a regular basis.  But I haven’t read a book since I’ve started this blog, and that’s really starting to bug me.

And I still think the Dead Beta Society is a great idea, but how the hell am I gonna fit that in, too?  I still want to.  Maybe there’s a way.

I don’t have a ton of readers, but I do have a lot.  People want to know what I have to say.  Some comment, some send emails, but a bunch of you actually read my thoughts.  They get you to think, to maybe see things a bit differently or to get an intellectual grip on something about which you previously had only an insinctual understanding.  I’m still small fries, but people are paying attention to what I write.  Part of me thinks “It’s about fucking time” but another part feels truly grateful and humbled.  Your time is valuable, and you spend some of it here.

So I’ll do my best to make it worth it to you.  It can be pretty rough sometimes, but everything rewarding sometimes is.

One of these days I’m hoping to not have to spend quite so much time working for somebody else.  When that happens, you’ll get as much of this stuff as you can handle.  I promise.

In the meantime, if anything I mentioned here is of particular interest to you, comment or drop me a line.  If I can’t do a post on it, I might at least be able to write back.

This entry was posted in Oops. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Cursed Blessing

  1. Ian hunter says:

    I look forward to your posts. I don’t remember where I found your site from but it has become one I check daily. I woul love to hear your thoughts on genisis, rhetoric and race (in that order).

    Any techniques that can be used to talk to people on the left without coming across as the stereotypical conservative would also be helpful. I.e I’m not racist or sexist and don’t hate the poor but the left/media has ingrained these ideas in the common psyche. (Being a white middle class male doesn’t make this any easier).

    Thanks

  2. RojoC says:

    I notice that you have been gradually increasing these instructional posts on how to combat leftist limp-wrist passive aggressive rhetoric. I appreciate that as those are very useful, as I need to get better at countering that bullshit.

    Thank you for writing in general. I am interested to see what will happen when the “Dead Beta” thing gains more traction.

  3. I’m not necessarily the guy to do it, but there’s a way to turn the “cool” factor against the left, and I know what it is.

    Hmm. As usual, I will have to disagree.

    We are considered profoundly UNcool. Or maybe you refer to the YOUNG Left? In which case, you need to distinguish whom you mean. I think the YOUNG libertarians are regarded as cool as the YOUNG lefties are. (YOUNG conservatives are not cool, true.)

    NO old people are cool, ever… except for maybe Lou Reed.

Leave a Reply

