All the King’s Men

Tonight’s post will be short because I’m tired.  I’m going through one of those self-examination periods during which I wonder if there’s a point to whatever, if what I’m trying to accomplish is too far out of reach, blah, blah, blah.  Just write anyway.  We’ll see if by the end of this post I’ve made any points.

Lately I’ve been more in tune with the factionalization of those I consider to be my allies.  I’m trying to straddle the line between the Manosphere and more traditional strains of conservative thought, and it’s not always easy.

However, I think it’s important.  Conservativism will never get anywhere unless it understands the lessons the Manosphere has to teach it.  It needs to rid itself of the white-knighting and stop being so damn beta when confronting the left.  Yes, this stuff helps you get laid.  It’s also the roadmap of the female brain.  Guys who have such a roadmap are going to use it to navigate to other parts of her body, but that’s not the only place you can drive.  (However, if it is the only place you want to drive, I understand.  I don’t agree, but I understand.)

On the other hand, because I use words like “pussy” and “fuck” from time to time, there’s a large swath of conservatives who will write me off and those like me without a second thought.  They’ll fret until the end of time over why single females vote for the other party, but when you explain why it’s happening, they don’t want to hear it (or they think it’s immoral, as if it’s moral to allow the greatest nation on God’s earth to flush itself down the toilet).  Obama’s using this stuff whether we like it or not.  I’m all for taking the high road, but when your opponent understands how to appeal to people as they are and you’re hoping to appeal to what you think they should be, you’ll loose.

I can see it now, some bigwig reads my stuff and finds some if it impressive, “but I’m not too sure about this whole pickup-artist thing.”  Fine, let’s be all fucking pure.  I hope you’ve found enough land to build yourselves some nice little city on a hill somewhere, ’cause you’re gonna need it.

And if you think they’ll leave some Galt’s Gulch alone, there’s a Judas Priest song you need to hear.

Last night on Twitter Dana Loesch was getting all kinds of crap because she was watching the Academy Awards.  Not because they suck, but because Hollywood is immoral and we  should therefore ignore it.  Let’s divorce ourselves from culture entirely and make shitty movies like Courageous that absolutely nobody who’s not already a Christian wants to watch (and I doubt even many Christians want to watch).

People are used to flash and pizzazz in their films.  Most conservatives can’t compete in the culture wars because they can’t accept this, they confuse what should be with what is.  I remember that when The Nativity Story came out a few years back that a lot of Christians were upset because the chick who played Mary took some risque photos at some point or something.  That’s the ticket.  Find a way to get pissed off about a movie that’s promoting your worldview because it’s not pure enough.  Let’s use Joel Osteen instead!  Or maybe those ladies with blue hair on the religious TV stations.

And then you wonder why your wholesome Christian daughter got gangbanged by the basketball team.

But it’s not only the Christians.  There are libertarians who can’t tell the difference between Ted Cruz and Nancy Pelosi.  “They’re all statists.”   Taxation may be theft, but I’d rather somebody rob me of $20 than $200.  Yes, it’s all wrong, but doing it more is more wrong.  Apparently that’s too difficult to understand.

And all too often these purists are wimps who attack others on the right with as much venom (or even more) than they attack the left.  But it’s not just the extremists; GOP primaries are notoriously vicious, as “vulture capitalist” Romney learned from Gingrich and Perry.  Romney fought back, and fought back hard.  Then when it was him against Obama he put the gloves back on.

Ann Coulter recently called libertarians “pussies.”  If she’s right (and I’m not saying she is), they’re not the only ones.

The one conflict on the right I do support is the outsiders against the establishment.  I’m a socially conservative libertarian (if you don’t understand this, leave a comment and I’ll explain), but I’d rather vote for either some true-believing Bible-banger or the next Ron Paul than some RINO who’s just going to Washington to learn how to get on the good committees.  The RINO won’t fight and just makes it harder for the rest of us.

On the other hand, those of us who believe in something better learn how not to come across as total morons.  If some reporter is asking you about how old the earth is, or whether or not corporations should own the roads, or anything involving rape, it’s a trap.  Don’t fall into it!  Fucking dumbasses.  Learn how to say what you believe in a way that won’t scare the shit out of everybody who’s to the left of Michelle Bachman.

I have the prescription for how to navigate us through this, but I’ve got some pretty high hurdles in my way.  My blog has been linked to by controversial sites like The Rational Male.  Even though I can convert lefties in my sleep, nothing on my resume proves it.  I ruffle feathers, I’m awkward and I can’t explain myself very well in writing all the time, but I change minds.

But I’m about to give up on the GOP.  I haven’t yet because I don’t see any other alternatives.  Yet.

I did a little class on rhetoric for the TEA Party where I lived before I moved here.  I’m trying to get that stuff converted into something that might almost make sense on a blog.  I’ll get there, but it’s gonna take some time.

In the meantime, I’m just pissed.

This entry was posted in Game, Politics, Rhetoric. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to All the King’s Men

  1. Excellent post. I was starting to feel like the only one who still feels like fighting the incremental slippery slope. “If we’re going to take a step forward, we might as well dive.” Balderdash.

  2. Greg says:

    I’ve long believed that it was better to be FOR something than AGAINST something… to stand for and support a set of principles and beliefs, rather than to just describe what you oppose.

    However, I find it very demoralizing watching the anti-statists savage the libertarians, and the voluntaryists engage the minarchists in philosophical death-matches.

    While I have very strong political beliefs, I’ve come to the conclusion that I will generally be supportive of anyone whose position is roughly “anti-Marxist”. I may have little respect for the “Conservative Christian” right, but the enemy of my enemy is my friend.

  3. deti says:

    Good post, Sir Martel.

Leave a Reply

